Hello Internets! I’m ba-aaaack!

Did you miss me? Of course you didn’t.

Here’s a little summary of what I did over my “staycations“. BTW, someone thought I was saying “steakations”, and that gives me ideas for next year. A steak a day sounds like an excellent vacation plan! 😉 Actually, I could call them “golfcations”.

I took the Zadorables and lovely wife to the driving range. I was really surprized that they’re pretty good at it, and most importantly that they like it enough to consider doing it again. My son has a very good drive, and so does my daughter and Lovely Wife. Maybe we’ll eventually get to golf as a family.

I played my best-est golf game ever, with a nice 88. My brother’s reaction was pretty funny, he started by saying that it wasn’t that bad for a 9 hole par 3, and when I told him it was actually on a full 18 hole course, he said that I must have a pretty good “kicking wedge”, meaning that I kicked my ball out of the woods of other hazards. I didn’t, and that makes this game all the more special. I played with Mister 1981, and since he plays 2-3 times a week, I was fairly happy to beat him by 7 strokes. He normally beats me by 10. The weather was perfect.

Lovely wife asked what my handicap is, and I told her that I was just dumb.

Other than that, the rain was pretty much ever present. I read “Life of Pi” and I am pretty much just “Meh” about it. I guess it was hyped so much that I was expecting too much and ended up a little disappointed. I mean, I’m a big fan of “the Usual Suspects”, so I wasn’t too surprised by the ending, and all the spiritual stuff in the first part was mostly boring, not life changing. Oh well.

I also finished the first of the Terry Goodkind Sword of Truth (SoT) series, Wizard’s First Rule. I enjoyed this book, but I have a few issues about it. First of all, it’s packed with typos. Michael is one time called Michale, and a lot of other little mistake litter the book, and distracted me from the story. I guess that’s also why they make second and third editions. The second issue I have is that it’s formulaic. It’s the story of a Wood Guide that needs to do big important things to save the world. Sounds familiar, doesn’t it? I have read LoTR and WoT, and it was hard at times to know who wrote what first. The whole part where Richard is controlled by a magic collar seemed like déjà vu to me, since it mirrored the WoT Damane-Suldam relation. The last issue I have with the book is the name of the main character, Richard. If you’re not familiar with this book, it’s set in a medieval fantastic time (with good and bad magic, talking wolves and dragons, and other fantasy-setting classic elements. Characters have names like Father Rahl, Chase, Zedd Zeddicus Zolander, Brophy, and then there’s Richard.

So, with just the week-end to go, it’s time for me to catch up on my blog reading before heading back to work on Monday. Anything I should (or should not) pay attention to in the Blogosphere?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

