One bullet short of a full gun

5 quick bullets. Dodge them if you can.

  • I find it really hard (That’s what she said) to keep a certain level of motivation in whatever I do these days. I start a lot of things, but finishing them takes a lot out of me. Is this normal? Should I be worry about this? This is not a way to say I don’t enjoy blogging anymore. Blogging is one of the few things I look forward to. But stuff like Playing D&D – that used to be really motivating – don’t really appeal to me anymore. I was all excited at creating a 4th edition character, now that I’ve started I’m not sure I want to play. How messed-up is that?
  • I miss good TV. I like watching TV, and I find I’m becoming an enigma. I will watch crappy reality TV like Big Brother and Wipe-out, semi-scripted reality TV like Iron Chef America, but I long for Minuit le Soir, Firefly and Arrested Development. But I still watch the less than stellar stuff when the good stuff – Hello, The Office! – is not on. Why? Shouldn’t I try doing something more meaningful than watching TV, like play guitar, read, walk, start a belly button lint collection or something else?
  • I expect a lot more and a lot less out of people. I know, I know, that doesn’t make sense unless I explain. Today I went for maintenance on my car. I got there 15 minutes before my appointment, and I was told that it wouldn’t take more then 30 minutes. I expected to get out of there 45 minutes later, I got out of there one hour and a half later. Did I say anything? No I didn’t. But I expected an apology or something. Mind you this is the same person that, when I asked why I wasn’t called back after leaving 3 different messages replied “Well this guy (points to coworker) was on vacation”. I don’t think that’s acceptable way to answer a customer question.
  • The previous bullet? Totally not about people at my workplace. But I do feel the same about some peopleat my workplace. I love my job, I love most people at my job – but not in a way where HR should be involved, no worries – with a few very annoying exceptions. For a 100 people I like, it takes only one to put the meter right back at neutral. And the people at my workplace that I don’t expect anything from, I really don’t expect anything from. I sent an email tonight that paraphrased this famous blonde joke: “Why should blondes not be given coffee breaks? It takes too long to retrain them.”. I replaced “blondes” with the person’s name, “coffee break” by vacation, and “them” by the appropriate pronoun, but you get the point. I joke about it because otherwise I would cry.
  • I’m over socialized, network-wise. Someone asked for “my info” today, and after making the list of my phone numbers (home, work, work cell, home cell), all the emails I have (work, home, School, Gmail, Live, Yahoo.com, Yahoo.ca, etc.), all the social stuff I belong to (Facebook, Twitter, various RPG boards, work-related communities, communities of practice, etc.) I realised that the list was a page and a half long. I read so much GTD crap that I don’t have time to GTD. I think I need to weed out some of the less useful stuff I use. What do you consider the bare minimum, network-wise?

In pure Call of Cthulhu tradition, I’ll keep the last bullet for myself for when the actual madness comes.

2 comments

  1. Oh, you’re not the only one missing good TV. Thank goodness the new season is just a month or so away. The summer TV wasteland sucks. I try to catch up on my Netflix queue during the summer months 😉

    Kevin Spencers last blog post..Paris Metro

Leave a Reply

