Not quite bullets…

More like bull.

Crazy e-mail

I think e-mail should be banned on Fridays afternoon, especially an hour or so before closing time. Here’s an excerpt of an e-mail I received this Friday at 16:07: Emphasis mine. Names changed to protect the innocents.

“On Monday, November 17 we will be doing some upgrades to the DB2 Test Environment. Between 8:00 AM and 10:00 AM, testing will be taking place and access to applications will be intermittent

 

Upon the completion of the upgrade, we ask that you verify the functionality of the applications. If you encounter any issues, please contact Crazy Person who sends an e-mail and then runs right out of the office, Senior Database administrator at extension XXXX or by email at CrazyPersonWhoSendsInsaneEmail@4onFriday.dum .”

 

WTF? Srsly?

 

I guess it doesn’t matter that the core of all my services rely on the DB2T environment. Monday between 8 and 10, odds are none of my 40,000 users will be able to access any of our services – bah, it’s only all the online courses offered at the university during peak exam time, it’s not that important right? – but I then have to verify if all my stored procedures will keep pulling the informations I need from the DB2T environment. If they don’t, I guess they’ll roll back their mystery upgrade, right? How long will that take? So Monday morning, I’m forwarding the support line to extension XXXX. Let’s see how crazy person enjoys getting hundreds of calls.

 

Lice killer!

 

I’m a mad lice killer. Apparently, my daughter is an extremely nice host for lice. We’ve been pulling larvae and eggs until 2:00 am Saturday morning, and most of Saturday.

 

Meh to the power of 10.

 

I love my Meh shirt, but after the last few days, I’m definitely getting this.

meh_flask

The only bad thing about this is that it only comes in a 6oz size. Maybe I’ll get 4.

16 comments

  1. @DutchBitch: I think I should just carry bottles and be done with it. Less style, but more substance. 😉

    @NYCWD: a Meh. keg is a great idea. I gotta get a bigger jacket. 😉

  2. Avez vous lice au Canada? Vraiment?

    (This never gets old to me! Oh, should I be using “Tu”?)

    Sorry to hear about the lice problem. We’ve been hosts here as well. It isn’t as bad as it used to be — the kids go to Catholic school now. Back when they went to Baptist school they’d often get infections of locusts and toads; Baptists don’t mess around with the smaller plagues.

    delmers last blog post..Survivor Corps – Returning Troops

  3. @Delmer: Yes, I think we’re good enough friends now that you can use “Tu”. ROTFL about the plagues. 😉

    @Kapgar: Thinkgeek.com for all you geeky needs. The real question is what will you put in there?

  4. That flask le rocks! I’m thinking that I may be getting one soon…especially if they can super size it:)

    @Delmer…you crack me up!! I loved your plague comment. How is anyone supposed to top that?!?

    But…its good to know that lice are willing to cross the border. We went through that before and its horrible. I hope you succeed in getting rid of them forever!!

    Beckys last blog post..Home Sweet Home

  5. @Becky: Flask is only le one size. I think it’s about portability, not quantity. Meh. 😉 Canadian lice are furry, you know because of the extremely long winters.

    And that Delmer has to be one of the funniest people I recently met that was also dressed as a cyclist when it was dark outside.

    Just kidding, He really is a tough act to follow. 😉

  6. @Janelle: Pink, it’s my new obsession. Pink it’s now even a question. Sorry I’ve been playing Guitar Hero Aerosmith a little too much.

  7. Pingback: Acute Monster |

Leave a Reply

