One bullet short of a full gun (NYE Edition)

Well, this seems to be the tradition, so here’s a list of bullets resolutions for 2009. Let’s see what I can make of those. 😉

The year of the purge

  • I want to get rid the things I don’t use. They might be books, dishes, games, CDs, clothes… I keep too many things just for the sake of keeping things, and I will do my best to get rid of all the clutter in and around the house, the car, the office.
  • I want to get rid of ideas that don’t bring anything new to the table. Life is too short for rehashing the same ideas over and over again. Out with the old, in with the new. I’ll be the new blood needed in every situation.
  • I want to get rid of the online addiction I slowly built up over the years. Facebook, Twitter, Delicious, Blogging, Google Talk. Email on gmail, at work, from my blog, at home, on my Blackberry… Who needs to be connected at all times like that?
  • I want to get rid of the friends I don’t care for. I have enough obligatory drama in my life from work, I don’t need more than absolutely necessary.
  • I want to get rid of the extra pounds I’m carrying. I’ve been saying that for years now, will this  be the year it finally happens?

In pure Call of Cthulhu tradition, I’ll keep the last bullet for myself for when the actual madness comes in 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…

Happy New Year Everyone!

9 comments

  1. I did a friend “house-cleaning” over this whole year and although it’s been really hard at times, in the end, I am definitely better and happier for it. I hope you find that peace too.

    And I really struggle with my Internet stuff as well. I vacillate all of the time on that one. Maybe once I get a real life…le sigh.

    Anyway, Happy New Year to you and yours!

    Hillys last blog post..For Auld Lang Syne, My Dear…

  2. @Hilly: Happy new year right back atcha! I know it’ll be tough, but I can do it! 😉

    @Ginger: Borrow all you want! Just make sure you bring them back! 🙂 Happy New Year!

  3. I ended a few dead-end friendships over the past year. It wasn’t easy, and it wasn’t pretty, but I am better off for it.

    I have had a few inklings to stop blogging, but I like the way it helps me clear my head….who knows what I will decide to do.

    Beckys last blog post..Sheila Asks a lot of Questions

  4. @Becky: Well, it’s draining to pretend. I started getting rid of people who just wouldn’t reply to e-mails last year. I would sent them e-mails with 1/7, 2/7, 3/7 and so on, and if I reach 7/7, no more e-mails. I won’t stop blogging, because it’s a hobby for me. And you can’t stop blogging before you answer my interview questions… 😉

  5. I have been getting rid of things left and right for the last few months – I figure, if it’s been hanging out in the bottom of my closet, buried underneath all of the stuff I do use, then it’s probably safe to get rid of it.

    If you get rid of your online addiction, does that in essence, get you over your Sheila addiction? Seriously. Just because we twitter, DM, e-mail, IM and sit in a chat room together all at the same time does not mean we’re addicted – it means that we are communication savvy. ::woot::

    Sheila (Charm School Reject)s last blog post..I’d Like to Thank the Academy

  6. @SheilaCSR: That’s the spirit of purging. I too figure that if it’s been hidden for a year, we don’t use it. Maybe somebody else could use it. As far as my Sheila addiction, I’m keeping that one. Some addictions are too good to give up! ::w00t::

Leave a Reply

