Back to work!

Well, yesterday was my first day back at work.

It was a dark day.

morning

This is on my way to work.

 

night

This is on my way home.

Yes, that second picture is the Parliment with the lightshow on. You can make out projected snowflakes on the buildings. It’s actually quite nice.

If you follow me on Twitter – and if you don’t maybe you should? – you read this gem of a thought from me as I’m waiting for the bus in the market:

Wishful thinking: bringing your sunglasses at work when you get at work at 7:30 and leave at 17:20. Meh.

Work itself was not that bad.Β I still have a lot to do project-wise, and the Holiday Break didn’t make work magically disappear. In fact, day-to-day tasks kept accumulating during the 20 days I was out of the office.

Would you believe that some people made requests through our on-line form and/or sent e-mails on December 24 and 25? Would you believe that the same people would e-mail again on January 1st because nobody replied to their previous e-mail? Β That seriously cracked me up. πŸ˜‰

I worked half the day with headphones on, ignoring the phone – for the most part, I have call display – and I was able to breeze through 145 course requests by lunch. As I’m writing this (22h45 Monday night) There’s 61 requests sitting in the queue. We had 145 in 22 days, and now we got 61 in 9 hours. Nah, Professors never wait until the last minute to plan their courses, right? RIGHT? LOL! Bad planning on your part does not constitute an emergency on mine.

Had an impromptu meeting in the afternoon about a really important upcoming event – sorry about the vagueness – and I had the occasion to try out my new attitude of telling it like it is regardless. LovelyWife says that this is not a new attitude. I say it is: Yes I say stuff, but I normally refrain from saying things like “You should cover these expenses because [name] from your department made a huge mistake when he promised me to pay for it, and failed to inform me, over the course of 8 months, to tell me otherwise even though he knew he couldn’t deliver, and that I have about 15 emails I sent him to ask if anything had changed. Don’t ask me why I don’t have money for that.”

All right, maybe I would say that. The new thing I said is this tidbit:

“When you decide to kick [name] out, I will apply for his job. He makes twice the money I make, and I can’t remember one of my projects where his involvement was positive. If you think about it, I’m sure you can’t think of one project of yours either. The way I see this, I’m more than qualified for that position.”

Anyways.

In other news

I spend the evening working on a super-secret project! You might know soon…

I’m listening to the team Canada post-game analysis – Canada won the gold for the 5th time in a row – and one guy said: “For Sweden to win, they would have had to take the lead and somehow maintain it”. That is priceless. πŸ˜‰

And on that note… Sleep. Because I get to do it all again tomorrow.

7 comments

  1. Well, if you look at the shot I took this morning, it’s not that bad today.

    @Kevin Spencer: That could get depressing after a while. In our case, I feel a “Let’s take a plane to a beach” moment coming soon…

    @SheilaCSR: DAmn, we’ll have to work extra hard to keep our lead. I’m assuming the new house means Chicago FTW anyways. πŸ˜‰

    @NYCWD: Well, I can’t say anything, but you’ll know soon. I think. Pretty much. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

