tYotP : B

This is the second in a series of posts in the Year of the Purge : A to Z. Every other Sunday, I’ll get rid of something starting with the letter A and working my way to the letter Z by the end of December. This week I’m tackling B.

If you didn’t read the letter A, for my awesome t-shirt, you might enjoy it. 

Enjoy!

So many B’s to choose from… Beer? Booze? Bermudas? Bad puns? Biological food? Banana hammock?

Choices choices… I’ll go with:

Books

Books I already read and I will most likely never read again

I probably have a truckload and a half of these. From old novels that I just grabbed at some corner convenience store to expensive books I ordered on-line, old university textbooks and outdated computer reference books (learn FrontPage 1.1 anyone?), I will now get rid – i.e. find a place where I can donate them. Hopefully it’ll make some people happy.

Now would be a good time to tell you about my “book mania”. 😉 I have this strange habit of buying 2 copies of each book. One copy to read, dog-ear and carry on the bus, and one copy “to keep in good condition”. I must have three different versions of the Lord of the Rings. More recently, I got the hard cover boxed set of the Twilight Saga, and I’ll probably end up reading the paperbacks instead. Weird huh?

Old Role-Playing Games systems that I don’t use anymore

At one point, had I stacked all my RPG books one on top of the other, I would have had enough book to reach the moon. Well, not really, but it would’ve made a stack almost 12 feet tall. I then got rid of almost all of them, saying I’ll never buy that many RPG manuals again. That’s when Wizards came out with 3.5. I know have close to 6′ of RPG stuff.

It’s time the cycle begins anew. 😉

And just like that, my old useless books are gone.

In two weeks, tYotP will break from it’s regular schedule to make room for a guest post from Karl with a K not a C. So you see,  I am somewhat still getting rid of a C. It’s all good really, as I was thinking of getting rid of my coffee addiction, and quite frankly I don’t see this happening anytime soon. I’ll be back with another edition, featurng the letter D on FEB 15th. 

10 comments

  1. I can’t get rid of books – no matter how much they sucked. It is almost sacrilegious.

    Dude – give your old text books to Faiqa!! From what I understand, it doesn’t matter how outdated they are, she still needs them! As soon as I get off my lazy ass, I will be getting all of mine out and sending them to her! Just gotta figure out which random box in the basement they are stored in!! I hope you didn’t already get rid of them!

    Sheila (Charm School Reject)s last blog post..How Does a Charm School Reject Become a Better Person?

  2. I did this when we moved back to California from Georgia. We could only bring what would fit in our car and the small trailer our Sentra would tow. I cried many tears while weeding through my belongings. 17 boxes of books were winnowed down to 3 boxes of the most precious to me. That was two years ago, and I still get sick to my stomach when I’m looking for a long-loved book and suddenly remember it was among those abandoned in Georgia. In balance, however, there were a lot more that I was glad to get rid of.

    Purging can be quite liberating.

    SJs last blog post..San Diego love song

  3. I have such an addiction to books (I bought 8 new ones yesterday. EIGHT). I love them. I need to do a purge of my books, but I find it so difficult. Maybe someday… So, good for you!

    And you can’t give up your coffee addiction! At least not until we’ve had our chance to have coffee together. (Because I’m selfish like that :P)

    suzes last blog post..lessons learned on the ski hill last night…

  4. I go through my books about once a year. I donate them to local hospitals. Then, i don’t so bad about getting rid of them.

    I don’t drink coffee, but I am planning on giving up caffeine soon…..that means no more Dr. Pepper. It makes me sad just thinking about it, but it has to be done…sometime in the near future:)

    Beckys last blog post..To Say or Not to Say?

  5. @Stacey: Wow, what kind of books are we talking about here? 😉

    @SheilaCSR: The books are not really gone yet. But I’ll give them to a local charity here, sending them to Faiqa would probably cost me 100$. 😉

    @SJ: Ideally, I’d be able to keep electronic versions of everything. Maybe in the future?

    @Suze: You should really thank Karl then. 😉

    @Becky: Good luck in your upcoming Dr. Pepper Challenge. Don’t they make a version without caffeine? Yes they do!

Leave a Reply

