Senegal announces new coinage

lesombre-coin

DAKAR, Senegal (AP) ā€” Senegal’s Minister of the Economy and Finance Abdoulaye Diop today unveiled the first pressings of the country’s newest coin, a 20-franc piece equal in value to 2,000 centimes. The coin bears the image of Michel Marcheterre, the Canadian educator credited with restructuring Senegal’s university system through the concept of distance education.

Marcheterre’s image was chosen for the 20-franc coin, Minister Diop explained, in appreciation for the thousands of bus fares that will be saved by students who no longer have to endure long bus rides to attend classes. The average one-way fare for a bus to University Cheikh Anta Diop in Dakar is 20 francs.

Marcheterre, who is currently attending a webloggers event in Santa Fe, New Mexico, could not be reached for comment.

[Chicago Tribune, April 24, 2009]

7 comments

  1. I smell diplomatic incident. Thanks Anonymous Guest Poster. I know who you are! šŸ˜‰

    You know the Minister will actually be here today in about 15 minutes… Maybe I should show him that…

    BTW, the rest of the team thought that is was hilarious that I was taking all the credit. Well done!

  2. Thanks, Michel! As you can see, I decided against airing my marital grievances on the web, even “anonymously.” Better to address them directly with the source, ahem. So this doesn’t actually need to be anonymous, but adding my personal info ruined the effect.

    This was originally written funnier, with reference to the students using their saved fares to buy beer and thus boost the economy. Then I learned 90% of Senegal’s population is Muslim, and alcohol consumption is forbidden. So, the humor bit the dust in the name of respect. And THEN I woke up this morning panicking that I shouldn’t have used your real name. I’m glad to know you approve. Whew!

    Avitable: Thank you very much. Writing this sure made me nostalgic for my years at the newspaper.

    SJ recently said San Diego love song

  3. Updates: I actually have pictures with the Minister of Education now. I’ll upload them soon! šŸ˜‰ And, dear AGP, I officially outed you out since you did it yourself. Thank you PseudoSJ!!!

Leave a Reply

