Slumdog Push

During what shapes up to be an awesome week (do I really need sarcasm tags here?) I’m getting to see a lot of movies, and by a lot I mean two.

So I saw Slumdog Millionaire on Sunday and Push on Tuesday.

I’m too lazy to write two movie reviews, and since there’s already enough movie reviews on the Internet (hint: use Google), I’ll just write one and include the two movies in it.

Oh, there might be some spoilers. There might also be some made-up spoilers and actor’s names.

Push Some Million Dog Hair

Plots: Two young Mumbai teens with special abilities and grew up in the slums must race to become contestants and find an Indian version of a girl in Hong Kong on “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?” before a shadowy government organization called Division arrest them under suspicion of cheating, and while being interrogated, events from their life history are shown which explain why they know where the fucking suitcase is.

Review: I didn’t like it.

It’s a whole series of scenes where the actors run around trying to escape from the bad guys chasing them, punctuated by scenes where the actors explain why running away from the bad guys was necessary. It’s filmed in the famous “I have Parkinson’s but I can still be a cameraman” style, making use of subtitles when it doesn’t make sense . There’s betrayal and redemption, and in the end, the guy finds the MacGuffin and gets the girl, and they live happily ever after.

The sad thing is that this description applies to both movies.

Slumdog won Best Picture, Director and Screenplay, Push could have been a straight to DVD release.

Not impressed.


 

Smorgashboard Sunday is a weekly compilation of interesting posts, pictures, and videos that I have found within the 350+ feeds of personal or personal related blogs that I currently read.  Due to the volume of blogs and the 10-12 posts I limit myself to comment on, there may be times when posts that you author do not appear.  This is not to say that you did not have a good post, or an important post, or even a post I did not read because in all likelihood I did indeed read it.  This simply means that for that week(s) that you are excluded… well… I thought other posts were better choices for the Snacking.  This does not mean I don’t like you, I don’t love you, or that I don’t read you.  It just means that for that week(s), I chose other posts but there is always the possibility of next week.  Unless.

Unless you cry, whine, send me e-mail messages begging me to feature you, send e-cards with links to the posts you want linked, tell me how I don’t love you, tell me how I don’t like you, tell me how sad you are, tell me how I don’t read you even though you know I did because I commented that week, and/or try to muscle me with threats of large “goombas” paying a visit.  If you do any of that… then hold your breathe until you see yourself on the Smorgashboard again.  While your doing that… go get a white hat and get yourself some Smurfberry Pie ‘cause you’ll be blue before you see it.

9 comments

  1. @Sybil Law: Laughter is the best medicine.

    @Avitable: I don’t think it lived up the the hype. It’s not an awful movie by any means, but it’s not a good movie either.

  2. Well, now that we’ve cleared up the confusion regarding what day of the week it actually is…..I’ve only heard distant rumblings regarding Slumdog whatever it’s called and I’ve never even heard of Push.

    Yes – I am out of touch with the real world.

    But I still cackled like a mad woman. See? Just goes to show you that I don’t have to understand you to think you’re tres funneh.

    Sheila (Charm School Reject) recently said Looking For a Lazy Post?

  3. Hmm. I did want to watch both of these movies. Now I’m not sure. I figured Slumdog Millionaire couldn’t possibly live up to the hype but was going to try and take it for what it is. But just today, you’re not the first person who’s said it’s not worth the effort. I’ll just wait for it to come out on DVD I guess.

    Kevin Spencer recently said The Lazy Sunday Random

  4. @SheilaCSR: I actually believe that understanding me makes a lot of what I say, do or write not très funny. Yes, I’m showing off my accented characters. Not funny.

    @Kevin Spencer: Hey, don’t take my word for it. I’m just a lonely Canadian having a crappy week. However, I do think that the movie doesn’t need to be seen in the theater to be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

