Chinese Takeout*

The amazing thing with guys is that, unlike most woman, we can show up at a party wearing the exact same dress and still become best friends forever.

Errr.

Well the point is that ever once in a while, some people will tell me that I’m exactly like their cousin – trust me I get that a lot – or that I should really meet this guy who’s as funny as I am, looks like me, talks like me and so on.

And honestly, I can picture myself becoming friend with a guy like me, because as we all know I am awesome. Spread the word.

So last Friday, I was made funny by association with none other than the great American Mike: Chinese Takeout*. I think it’s that American Coz of mine, Amber who Tweeted that during #FollowFriday.

Now the amazing thing with bloggers is that, unlike other people, when something piques our interest, we feel compelled to write about it – I know I do and I’m pretty sure you do too, hence I feel okay using we here – and I started this post about how it idn’t make sense to have a Shiny Stakeout.  I know, nice play on words, right?

I first came in contact with Shiny’s blog through a comment made by Avitable, about his blog’s name. I got curious, and quickly stole a peak between doing the other twenty-seven things I was doing at the time. 

I’m also an awesome multi-tasker. Ask around you’ll see.

Anyways, since I was doing do many things at the time, I promptly forgot to add the man to my feed reader, and life went on. But then came Plagiarism week 2009. I actually got wind of the thing mid week, and my first reaction was:

“That fucker is stealing my idea!”

Well, I’m kidding here, but not completely. I was planning to parody some bloggers at that point, because I felt I was running out of content and figured that I could start a web comic à la XKCD, or maybe make some vlogs reviewing sex toys (something that I thought Avitable could do, and he did it since). I have since then re-purposed those ideas into the guest posts on my own blog, which you saw the first installment here a couple of weeks ago, and the second yesterday with the infamous Avitable does Ottawa post. At this point, I have about seven “Guests posts posted on my own blog” in the works. 

And by the way, if you ever wonder how I write – pretentious much am I? – now you know. At any given time I have between twenty and thirty “blog ideas” in my head, on paper, in a text file on my computer or even as drafts on the blog. 

Wow, this post is going everywhere and nowhere isn’t it?

So, here’s the thing.

I like Shiny’s blog. I think Shiny is a hilarious blogger. I’ve never met him, but I have the feeling that we’d have a good time if we ever get to be in the same room at the same time. When I read about people comparing us, I thought “Oh crap, I need to up my game now!”. Then I read on his blog that he didn’t want to become the redundant Mike, and that he thought that I offered quality content, I was floored.

Consider this an official response to your open declaration, Mr. Shiny: I’m happy to see that there’s at least one Mike in the States who’s even more awesome then I am. I really think every country should experience the awesomeness of a Mike, and I’m confident that you’re doing a fine job for all the States. And since we all know that everything is bigger and better in the States… 

And just because it wouldn’ t be a fitting tribute to the great Shiny without some excerpt of a Quebec TV series about people working in a bar, I leave you with Minuit, le soir. Best TV series to come out of Quebec. Sorry, no Norm.

And one last thing:

Start shopping!

___

* I am aware that he spells the name of his blog differently. Out of respect for my country, however, I have decided to use the traditional Canadian spelling.**

** Yes, I did lift this straight out of Shiny’s blog. Admit it’s much better than my Stakeout joke.

9 comments

  1. @Delmer: We all look alike to each other too. Makes for interesting parties. 😉

    @Sybil Law: Oh it’s not a competition. I think we’ll play well together. 😉

  2. I have to admit — the special effects in Minuit le Soir are far better than any that I’ve seen on Cheers. Except, of course, for the perpetual sight gag that was Ted Danson’s hair.

    Dude — we seriously have to meet up at one of these blog get-together things. Or at an Icelandic new media expo. Or a Peruvian brothel. Or an Egyptian nail salon. Something like that.

    Glad I’ve finally taken the time to read you! Looking forward to reading more…

    shiny recently blogged List on the 3s: Top 6 Good Songs Shiny Wouldn’t Mind Never Ever Listening To Again

  3. @Shiny: Yay! We soooo have to meet. And judging from what I can gather from your blog, we might have a professional reason to meet. How crazy would that be? 😉

    @Hello Haha Narf: That sounds like a challenge. 😉

    @Whall: Where is MyCon this year? Hehehehehe.

Leave a Reply

