Well, it finally happened.

sombre-computer

My home computer is dead.

My seven year-old AMDK6 1.3GHz with 1G of RAM and 80G main HDD (second 320G HDD) just stopped working.

Actually, it’s the main HDD that died.

So now the question is: Do I get a new HDD for 200$ 80$, and reinstall XP (my computer is too old for Vista) and basically spend a few days trying to prolong it’s useful life – which would be much easier achieved by installing Ubuntu like I planned on doing about a month ago – Β do I get a new Windows-based computer for about 1500$ 1000$ or do I finally get a Mac for 2500?

Here’s another option: Do I live without a home computer for a bit?

And as a corollary: what will I do with all the extra space? πŸ˜‰

Decisions decisions.

+++++

In other less gloomy news today marks my parent’s 38th wedding anniversary.

EDIT: I adjusted some of the prices I quoted originally.

16 comments

  1. I started reading this and thought, “Oh look some computer jibberish I don’t understand.” Then I got to a part I do. (whew.)

    Happy anniversary LeSombre’s parents.
    .-= Sarah´s last blog ..Lunch =-.

  2. @Faiqa: Yes, a laptop counts if it belongs to the whole family. My kids are not allowed to use my work laptop. In fact, my kids have their own computer. I guess it’s my wife’s computer that’s dead. πŸ˜‰

    @Sarah: So, no advice for me? Sigh.

    @Suze: If I get a Mac, will I love it? Also, I manually fixed the commentluv thing. Can you send me a couple of sites where it works for you? I have a theory… πŸ˜‰

  3. Hi,

    Are you still playing games on the computer? Could make a difference on what you choose.

    Went the ubuntu way last Xmas. First at work, then my old laptop, then the family computer and finally, after an evening “Γ  sacrer” after my company computer, it was it’s turn. Not going back to paying the M$ tax for a while.

    Don’t hesitate to ask questions if you consider or go Ubuntu. The main thing to remember is [ aptitude search “program-or-file-or-concept-you-want-to-find” ]

    Looks like my parents got married at about the same time as yours. Happy moments to them!

  4. I’d buy a new drive. Of course, I a giant tightwad.

    Here in the States (Land of the Free, Home of the Brave) you can get a 320G drive for $80 … or a 1 TB drive for $80 … depends on where you want to shop.

    I’ll be in Vancouver later this week — I can bring a drive up with me. If memory serves, Langley is about 1/2 between Ottawa and Vancouver (and if not, it’s convenient to me) — we can meet at the Costco there.

    (I TB for $80?!! I remember when a 1G drive hit $99.99. I couldn’t believe it.Of course I also remember thinking it was cool that I could clip a notch in a 5.25 floppy disk and have my C64 drive (a 1541?) write to both sides. Man, I’m old.)
    .-= delmer´s last blog ..The Bike Ride =-.

  5. Dude, $200 for new hd? Thats way too high. Is this some special 15K rpm SCSI drive or something? If it’s EIDE or SATA, I can probably help you out with finding what you need for a lot less expensive. I recently bought a 1.5TB SATA drive for $150 when it was on deal.

    I’ll also challenge you on the $1500 price tag for a new PC – great deals are out there and you can get an extremely decent system for $500 if you find the right deal – dual-core cpu, 4GB ram, 500GB hard drive, usually with an LCD panel for free.

    Chat me up or email me for more info.
    .-= whall´s last blog ..iPhone Details, part 2 =-.

  6. @Patrek: No games on the computer. We got an XBox and a Wii for that. I was tired of upgrading every six months to keep up with the games. πŸ˜‰

    @Dave2: I know, I know… But I seem to have really expensive taste when it comes to Macs, i.e.: I want either a 24-inch: 3.06GHz iMac or MacBook Pro 17-inch. Would I be happy with a 20-inch: 2.66GHz iMac or a 13-inch: 2.26GHz MacBook Pro? Except for the 13″ screen, both are much better than the home computer I have now (even when it wasn’t dead). πŸ˜‰

    @Delmer: Oops, I put the price of the last external HDD (1TB) I got for work. I can get a 1TB internal HDD for 80$. Vancouver – Ottawa is a 4,800km drive. πŸ˜‰

    @Whall: Yeah, I messed up on the HDD. I put 1,500$ because that’s what a quick build on Dell.ca amounted to (Inspiron 545s). It does include a 24″ LCD Panel. I could also get a much cheaper system (290$) from a local PC store… We’ll talk.

  7. If you’re really interested in pursing the Mac route, you might see if you can pick up a slightly used one somewhere. I’m not sure how available desktops are, but it seems like people upgrade their laptops fairly often.

    Just over a year ago, I went ahead and spent the money on the 17″ MacBook Pro. It was a lot of money, but I’m so happy with it. Money well spent, in my opinion. At least until @whall convinces me of the beauty and simplicity of Windows 7. I still have XP on one of our computers at home, along with a VMware image on my Linux laptop for work, so I use it occasionally and and pretty much annoyed every time.
    .-= Ren´s last blog ..β€œCable” TV =-.

  8. @Ren: I guess I need to figure out if the price difference between a 20-inch: 2.66GHz and a 24-inch: 3.06GHz equals that many more years of use…

    @Poppy: I have my work laptop that I carry around all the time, plus my Blackberry… It’s not like I’m computer-less. Oh, did I mention the kids also have their own computer? πŸ˜‰

    @Avitable: As a matter of fact, I have a brand spankin’ new case and PSU that’s doing nothing at the moment but gathering dust…

  9. I’m with Sarah….

    blah blah blah blah I clearly hate Sheila blah blah blah blah Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad! ::woot::

    Then I got all excited when I remembered about the work laptop because ::whew:: I still have someone to help me ignore my laundry and dishes and schtuff. Of course, I now have Travis addicted to Buffy so maybe it won’t be so bad with you not around….
    .-= Sheila (Charm School Reject)´s last blog .. =-.

  10. I’ve been watching too much Buffy. As soon as I read “I have a theory” the song of the same title from the buffy musical popped into my head. “I have a theory, we sould work this out…”

    Okay, so Comment Luv no longer loves me on other people’s sites now too…It used to work on Hilly’s site. And on Sizzle’s. And honestly, I’ve not been commenting at too many other places these days… So tell me your theory (“it could be bunnies…”)

Leave a Reply

