What do you mean it’s not Sunday?

I have a love-hate relationship with days off in the middle of the week.

I love them because:

  • It’s an extra day off in the week.
  • The commute is awesome (bedroom – living room via kitchen in 30 seconds).
  • Every day that I don’t have to wear pants is a good day.
  • Every day I don’t have to shave is a great day.
  • This bullet is rated R and has been removed per LW request.
  • It’s a perfect day to have lunch downtown or near the Canal.
  • I can have wine before 4pm without getting weird looks from coworkers.

I hate them because:

  • I still get up at 5:30 in the morning.
  • It’s an extra day in the week where I have to do house work (like cleaning up the backyard, cleaning the BBQ, plan vacations).
  • OK to be fair LW cleaned the BBQ.
  • But then she kept telling me about all the vacation options. Now I have to decide today. Sigh.
  • They’re not followed by another day off.
  • Most stores are closed on those days.
  • They’re not aligned with my American friends days off.
  • Most of the fall on special days, and that means a whole bunch of tourists downtown.
  • It’s only one day.
  • I might forget to turn the alarm clock back on for the next morning.

If it was just me, I would trade the 8 public holidays we get every year  – February 16 (Family Day) April 10 (Good Friday) April 13 (Easter Monday) May 18 (Victoria Day) July 1 (Canada Day) August 3 (Civic Holiday) September 7 (Labour Day) October 12 (Thanksgiving) – for an extra week and a half off at the end of August, just before the school year starts.

However, I also think that I should get my birthday off. 😉

Of course, some workplaces are really really cool and have Friday movie days, or work from the pool day, or skip work to go to Disney day. We can’t all be that lucky.

What do you think? If I ever run as Prime Minister*, what kind of holiday platform should I put forward?

TUA: Today is fellow Canadian extraordinaire BluePaintRed’s Birthday. She hits the big 3-0 today (That’s like 26 in US years) so go wish her a very happy birthday, m’kay? I hope she never ran against me for the Prime Minister gig, because she’d probably run on a cupcake and cookies platform, and I couldn’t beat that.

*Canadian Presidents are called Prime Ministers because their cabinets can only be formed by a prime number of MPs (or is it their birth date? I can never remember). We used to call them Fibonacci Ministers, but no one would get it.

9 comments

  1. I used to have a boss like ::mumble::cough::schmadam::cough::mumble::

    Of course, it was a Hardee’s restaurant so it wasn’t anything fancy. And I was fifteen/sixteen when I worked there. But anyway, we would order payperview wrestling and order tons of food pretty much every Sunday – and their dime. And close the restaurant for “maintenance” and go to Great America or the museum or Navy Pier. We also always ordered in food while we were at work because we’d get sick of eating burgers and schtuff everyday.

    I like the idea of smushing the holidays into one extra week off.
    .-= Sheila (Charm School Reject)´s last blog ..My Weekend =-.

  2. Lets be reasonable here, instead of smushing all those one day holidays in to one week we should be making EACH of them a week. Its ridiculous how little time off most slaves in this country take (myself not included!)

  3. When you become prime minister, please have on your platform a promise that everyone, not just university students, get a reading week in February. We really, really, really need time off in February. And as I work for the Federal Government, I don’t get family day, so at the very least, promise Family day to the federal workers… 😉

    I always get my birthday off – one of the advantages (perhaps the ONLY advantage) of sharing a birthday with Christ…

  4. Fibonacci!!! BWHA-HA-HA-HA! I totally got that one, my friend. 🙂

    Personally? I think you should get your usual vacation days (you know, the typical two weeks a year here in the US). And then, I think the eight days (New Year, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving – 2 days, Christmas – 2 days) US employees typically get for the holidays should be given as personal days. Use them on those said holidays or use them as part of your two weeks, or however you want to use them. I think it should be optional that you use those eight days on the specific holidays.
    .-= Coal Miner’s Granddaughter´s last blog ..Fertile Left-Overs =-.

  5. i’d be happy with a three-day weekend every month instead of weird middle-of-the-week off days. i could care less about most holidays, besides the major ones. (AND Halloween is a major one in my book!)
    those days off in the middle of the week tend to cramp my style, too, similar to all of your bullet points in the “hate” list.
    i barely take advantage of my vacation time. i think i would if three-day weekends were mandatory.
    .-= melissa´s last blog ..this is a tribute =-.

  6. @SheilaCSR: See, I do have brilliant ideas some of the time. 😉

    @Calgary P: What’s your proposal for dental?

    @Suze: I’m adding your demands to my master plan file. 🙂

    @CMG: it would be fun to run a business with that model. 😉

    @Melissa: Yet, Halloween doesn’t get its own Holiday. Go figure.

    @BluePaintRed: Age follows the money exchange rate. 😉

  7. I only work 3 days a week, so I really can’t complain about having time off. Where I work, we don’t get time off for holidays. I work every other one. Damn sick people! But, I do think that everyone should have their birthday off, which is why I always ask off my that day and the day after!
    .-= Becky´s last blog ..Excavators and Skid-Steers =-.

Leave a Reply

