Hot water

shower

So what’s the deal with putting two showers in one house, but just one water heater? I’m just saying it doesn’t make much sense.

Because of this, you can never take two showers at the same time, not to mention flushing the toilet, running the dishwasher, the washing machine or just turning a tap on. How do I fix this considering I have two kids that are growing fast, a wife that likes to take long hot baths and all of them tend to not hear the shower running when I’m in it.

I’m thinking about those tank-less water heaters, but I’m wondering if I should get one, two, one on top of the regular water heater, what? Also, there must be a way to regulate the water pressure to be able to run a tap or flush the toilet while the shower is running.

Am I asking for too much here? It’s 2009 people! There was 200+ rooms at the Altamonte Springs Hilton and it worked (well, the pressure wasn’t that great and I could do without the sulphuric smell really). I could even flush the toilet while in the shower.

Any plumber out there with ideas?

17 comments

  1. I happen to live with a plumber and read this out to him. His response was that any problem can be fixed for a price. Email me what your price range is and I will email you the options he comes up with. At least it will all be done in Canadian dollars 🙂

  2. @Whall: Odds are I won’t mind showering in a cold waterfall, as long as it doesn’t get colder when my kids pee nearby. :mrgreen:

    @Flo: I don’t have a price range. I just want it to be done right. I completely blame Mike Holmes for that. 😀

    @THE BROTHER: Thermostatic shower valve? No linky love for your brother? Sigh. 🙂

  3. We seldom have a problem with the shower, even with other stuff running, though I do appreciate that the shower my daughters’ typically use is on a different hot water than our shower.

    Our problem is with the bath tub. My wife likes to take hot baths and filling the tub uses most of the hot water. In fact, in the winter it often uses all of the hot water and then some. We’ve been known to boil a few pots of water to add to her bath.

    One thing that helped was to increase the temperature of the hot water. The hotter it is, the more cold water you can include (for both the bath and the shower) and thus the longer the hot water will last. This is another reason I’m glad the girls’ bathroom is on a separate water heater — less danger of scalding.
    .-= Ren´s last blog ..Avitaween Costumes =-.

  4. Me again…First question…what kind of heat does your house use? Forced air or hot water. Next one…Do you have natural gas in the house?

  5. Hummm… we only have one water heater as well and I’m in the same boat as Hilly & Rachel, we don’t run out of hot water and I can run all kinds of things at once and flush the toilet! However, I have the washer and dishwasher set to “Eco Friendly” and I’m sure that makes a difference, maybe? I don’t really know. I just use those settings so that I can save the planet all by myself. The only time I run out of hot water is if I take a super long bath.

  6. @Ren: Just wait until you experience those cold Canadian winters (and summers too!) you’ll see that the hot water tends to vanish rather quickly. 🙂

    @Flo: I just sent you an e-mail, but it’s forced air and natural gas.

    @Janelle: I don’t think we run out as much as we get either burned of frozen by the sudden change of temperature when something else kicks in…

  7. britt thought she would never run out of hot water. until she showered in her bathroom at the same time i showered in the guest bathroom. i LOVE a long hot shower. britt got very, very chilly.

    anyhow, back to you…there is a really neat thing that you can purchase which heats the water as you use it. ENDLESS hot water, regardless of the number of users. frikken amazing. want me to find a link for you?
    .-= hello haha narf´s last blog ..Dreamin =-.

  8. I have 2 showers. The teenager daughter can take a shower the same time I take one, plus do a load of laundry and the dishwasher. There is no problem with water pressure or water temperature. Maybe its a Canadian issue?
    .-= Becky´s last blog ..Game. Set. Match. =-.

  9. Hello Haha Narf: Yes I can. :mrgreen:

    Becky: It might be. Maybe I’ll just move to the States instead. 🙂

    Delmer: Seriously, have you ever used a bidet? I find it leaves the hair slightly greasy. 😆

Leave a Reply

