Hostage

unacceptable

Really words with friends, really? Hostage is not an acceptable word? Let me tell you that I said a few “not acceptable words” when I saw that.

hostage [ˈhɒstɪdʒ]
n

1. a person given to or held by a person, organization, etc., as a security or pledge or for ransom, release, exchange for prisoners, etc.
2. the state of being held as a hostage
3. any security or pledge
give hostages to fortune to place oneself in a position in which misfortune may strike through the loss of what one values most[from Old French, from hoste guest, host]

What’s that you say? It’s the FE that’s the problem?

FE

The symbol for the element iron.

Well what do you know…

This word was placed on two double words tiles, and was worth 63 points. That would’ve made the final score LeSombre 370, Snackiepoo 361.

Damn you Words with Friends!

P.S.: I love that game.

8 comments

  1. I try to get away with stuff too. By the way, I found out “cunt” was an acceptable word. I felt I had to apologize to my friend when it went through. 😆

  2. @Lynda: It never happened to me with that kind of word, but sometimes I’m surprised at what goes through. 😳

    @Nat: I don’t know what lexicon Words with Friends uses… Something weird I’m sure.

    @Sybil Law: Is bullshit accepted? I’ll have to try it now. :mrgreen:

    @Suze: I don’t get why they got rid of the 16GB iPod Touch – they have an 8GB, a 32GB and a 64GB. Why not go 16 – 32 – 64 instead?

  3. @Avitable: I’m not sure if you mean you’re annoyed that they’re not considered real words, or that you’re just annoyed that they’re not real words. Because clearly I think they’re real words. 🙂

  4. Note that in addition to 370, you would’ve gotten points for whatever tiles Hilly still had — and she would’ve lost those points. So it would’ve been an even bigger win!

    I totally thought FE worked on WWF…. Hm…. (which works, btw)
    .-= Ren´s last blog ..Macro Monday #40 =-.

Leave a Reply

