Idiot

This is the part where you laugh, point and call me an idiot.

I’ve been trying to upgrade the “kid’s PC” – to make it the family PC – for the past few days. I pulled out the old CD ROM (Reader only) and replaced it with a DVD Reader / Writer I had doing nothing. Since all of tis is part of my plan to consolidate 3 PCs into one, I figured I was also going to install the 300GB HDD I had in my old AMD K6 PC as a secondary HDD in the new system.

Once finished, the new Frankenstein system is a P4 3GHz, 2GB RAM, primary HDD is 40GB, secondary HDD 300GB, CD/DVD R/W running WinXP. Not bad for a system I built from 3 PCs I already had plus a few random parts I had lying around.

Except if it had been that easy, I wouldn’t blog about it, n’est-ce pas?

You see the addition of the second HDD and CD/DVD combo had meen kicking my ass for the past 3 days. I couldn’t figure out why the new devices wouldn’t show neither in the BIOS or in the system. I looked online and they suggested I check my cables connections. Of course they’re firmly attached to the devices. Duh. Then I played with the jumpers. I normally leave everything to “Cable Select” but I was told that computer might be a little weird about the cable select, so I master/slave them on the secondary IDE, making sure again that the cables were properly secured. No dice. Eventually, I decided to troubleshoot properly by only adding the DVD combo to the end of the cable, to see if maybe the HDD was dead or something. So I unhooked the cable from the HDD…

That’s when the other end of the IDE cable – the one “connected” to the MotherBoard hit the bottom of the case.

Sonovabitch. That end was not properly connected to the MotherBoard. Sonovabitch.

This is the part where you laugh, point and call me an idiot.

9 comments

  1. @Sarah: Hi! ::waves::

    @Sybil Law: Thanks! And keep the pointing at chest level please. 😛

    @Avitable: On some level, I deserve that. :mrgreen:

  2. I skimmed all of that russian gibberish and got to the end when you said that you had the thingy unblogged from the computer’s vagina…..

    Once I called our IT people because my printer wasn’t working. Forty minutes later I realized that it had somehow become unplugged. D’oh. $100 to find out it wasn’t plugged in.

    At least your idiocy did not cost MONEY!
    .-= Sheila (Charm School Reject)´s last blog ..Two More Weeks =-.

  3. I returned a Blu-ray player when the video stopped being displayed correctly. I got a different one, connected it, and lo-and-behold, the video wasn’t being displayed correctly. It turned out to be a loose cable to the Blu-ray player, so it doesn’t really make sense that it was the same problem, but I’m suspicious that perhaps that cable in question doesn’t hold as well as it should. It’s been at least a couple of months now, and the cable hasn’t come loose, so I don’t really know if that was the problem or not. I still felt like an idiot.
    .-= Ren´s last blog ..Macro Monday #41 =-.

Leave a Reply

