Total Recall

Arnold Schwarzenegger as Douglas Quaid
a.k.a. my face whenever I have to deal with Nissan.

I seriously don’t get how car dealerships can get away with this kind of crap. Oh, where to begin?

I guess it all started when one of LovelyWife’s colleague brought her a magazine. In this magazine, there was a brief mention that Nissan was recalling a plethora of 2008 Rogues because of some defective screw in the steering gear housing. LovelyWife then emailed me, I called her back and I ended up calling my local Nissan dealership to get what the story was on that recall thing.

Turns out there’s not one, but three recalls on my 2008 Rogue. Sigh. They’ll fix them free of charge, but I get to drop the car there for a whole day. I scheduled this for yesterday, because LW and the Zadorables are not in town, so they don’t need to be picked up or use the car for anything. I figures as long as I’m there, might as well get an early oil change. My car has exactly 22,002 kms (as of Wednesday morning 7:02), and the next oil change is scheduled for 24,000 kms. The guy on the phone tells me that the  24K scheduled maintenance is “maintenance package #2” and that it costs around 200$. I say fine, let’s make it happen – car is leased, I don’t skip maintenance – as long as the car is already there.

Funny thing is  that this recall was issued in November. It’s only funny because Nissan calls me almost every other week to ask me about their service, to remind me I have an oil change coming up, to update their database with my current information. In the 3-4 times they called me since the recall was issued they never mentioned anything. In the 8-10 times they called since the first of the three recalls was issued, they never mentioned anything. Weird.

So right off the bat they’re getting 200$ more that I expected to pay, but it was either pay now or pay in a month or so. No biggie. I can live with that.

I get to the dealership around 7:00, and I’m the first customer there. The clerk takes my info, takes my key and I get to sit in the waiting area to wait for the shuttle. About 20 minutes later, the mechanic steps out of the back and asks the clerk what is the deal with the Rogue with the recalls. He asks the guy why he was doing only three out of the four recalls. Of course I look over there and the clerk gives the mechanic some lame excuse basically saying that the fourth recall might not be there if the customer scheduled the maintenance before the recall was issued. Well, since I scheduled the maintenance Friday, I highly doubt that a recall was issued Monday or Tuesday that I don’t know about. The clerk just said to do the fourth recall at the same time and printed another work order.

No biggie. One more free thing, the car is already in the garage, what do I care, right?

The shuttle gets there and I get to work. About an hour after I get to work, I get a phone call from the clerk. Apparently Nissan recommends that the air filter be changed every 12K, and the clerk recommends that a brake maintenance be performed on the car. We’re talking 200$ for this. Plus taxes.

So I asked the guy why the air filter change was not included in the “maintenance package #2”, since it’s a every 12k thing and well, 24k is twice 12k. It’s apparently not part of the package. I then asked why he didn’t tell me that this needed to be done when I booked the appointment last Friday. I then asked what was the brake maintenance recommendation. If you guessed every 12k you win. Again I asked why this maintenance wasn’t part of the “maintenance package #2”, and I couldn’t get a decent answer from him on any of those questions.

Oh and get this: when I picked up the car, the fourth mysterious recall had disappeared. The clerk swore that he never heard of a fourth recall for my car. I told him I heard the mechanic ask about it this morning, and he said: “we must’ve been talking about something else… there’s so many recalls on so many models! This one has 2, this one has 5, this one 4 and so on.” Way to inspire confidence in the Nissan brand buddy!

So now Nissan will be getting about 500$ (446$) from me for initially doing a recall. A recall that I phoned to inquire about. A recall that morphed into three and then four recalls.

I seriously don’t get how car dealerships can get away with this kind of crap.

On an unrelated note, my next car might be a BMW or a VW. Because I already had enough of GM and Toyota… 😉

See all the Nissan Rogue 2008 recalls after the jump…

NHTSA Campaign ID Number: 09V411000
Recall Date:
2009-10-19

Summary:
NISSAN IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2008-2009 ROGUE VEHICLES. A SCREW IN THE STEERING GEAR HOUSING COVER MAY LOOSEN OVER TIME AND COULD FALL OUT. AS IT LOOSENS, THE STEERING RESPONSE OF THE VEHICLE MAY BE COMPROMISED BUT THE DRIVER WILL RETAIN STEERING CONTROL.

Consequences:
THE SCREW MAY EVENTUALLY COME OUT OF THE STEERING GEAR COVER. IF LARGE STEERING INPUTS ARE MADE WITH THE COVER SCREW MISSING THE PINION SHAFT MAY COME OUT OF THE STEERING GEAR RESULTING IN A COMPLETE LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL AND INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

Remedy:
DEALERS WILL INSPECT WHETHER THE STEERING GEAR COVER SCREW IS LOOSE AND WILL BE RETIGHTENED TO THE PROPER SPECIFICATION. DEALERS WILL ALSO INSTALL A COVER PLATE TO PREVENT THE SCREW FROM POSSIBLY COMING OUT OF THE STEERING GEAR. THIS SERVICE WILL BE PERFORMED FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL IS EXPECTED TO BEGIN DURING NOVEMBER 2009. OWNERS MAY CONTACT NISSAN AT 1-800-647-7261.

Component Affected:
STEERING:GEAR BOX:SHAFT PITMAN

Potential Cars Affected:
163,659

Notes:
NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

+++++

NHTSA Campaign ID Number: 09V393000
Recall Date:
2009-10-05

Summary:
NISSAN IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2008-2010 VEHICLES ORIGINALLY SOLD IN OR CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN THE STATES OF CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, IOWA, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, MASSACHUSETTS, MAINE, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSOURI, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW YORK, OHIO, PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND, VERMONT, WASHINGTON D.C., WEST VIRGINIA AND WISCONSIN. THE MATERIAL IN THE NUT USED TO SECURE THE SENSOR-TRANSMITTER OF THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPMS) MAY CORRODE AND POTENTIALLY CRACK IN AREAS WITH HEAVY CONCENTRATIONS OF ROAD SALT. IF THIS OCCURS, THE NUT MAY COME OUT OF THE SENSOR-TRANSMITTER AND THE TPMS LAMP WILL ILLUMINATE.

Consequences:
IF THE TPMS LAMP IS DISREGARDED AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO BE DRIVEN IN THIS CONDITION, THE TIRE WILL QUICKLY LOSE AIR PRESSURE AT A CONSISTENT RATE RESULTING IN A FLAT TIRE INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

Remedy:
THE DEALER WILL REPLACE THE TPMS NUT WITH A NEW, MORE ROBUST NUT. THIS SERVICE WILL BE PERFORMED FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL IS EXPECTED TO BEGIN ON OR BEFORE NOVEMBER 9, 2009. OWNERS MAY CONTACT NISSAN AT 1-800-647-7261 AND INFINITI AT 1-800-662-6200.

Component Affected:
TIRES:PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

Potential Cars Affected:
143,223

Notes:
NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

+++++

NHTSA Campaign ID Number: 08V521000
Recall Date:
2008-10-07

Summary:
NISSAN IS RECALLING 204,361 MY 2007-2008 ALTIMA, ALTIMA HYBRID, 350Z, 350Z ROADSTER, MY 2008 ALTIMA COUPE, ROGUE, MY 2009 MURANO, AND INFINITI MY 2007-2008 G35 SEDAN, MY 2008 G37 COUPE AND EX35 PASSENGER VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL AUTOMOTIVE SYSTEMS’ OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (OCS) CONTROL UNITS. A VARISTOR IN THE OCS CONTROL UNIT LOCATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION MAY HAVE BEEN MANUFACTURED OUT OF SPECIFICATION. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, THIS COULD CAUSE AN INTERRUPTION OF SIGNAL BETWEEN THE OCS AND THE AIR BAG CONTROL UNIT (ACU).

Consequences:
THIS COULD RESULT IN THE PASSENGER AIR BAG BEING SUPPRESSED WHICH COULD FAIL TO PROVIDE ADEQUATE PROTECTION IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH.

Remedy:
DEALERS WILL TEST THE SIGNAL BETWEEN THE OCS AND ACU SYSTEMS USING A SPECIAL TOOL TO CHECK THAT IT IS FUNCTIONING AS DESIGNED. IF NECESSARY, THE SEAT CUSHION (CONTAINING OCS HARDWARE) WILL BE REPLACED WITH A NEW ONE MANUFACTURED TO SPECIFICATION. THE RECALL BEGAN ON NOVEMBER 4, 2008. OWNERS MAY CONTACT NISSAN AT 1-800-647-7261 OR INFINITI AT 1-800-662-6200.

Component Affected:
AIR BAGS

Potential Cars Affected:
204,361

Notes:
NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

+++++

NHTSA Campaign ID Number: 08V521000
Recall Date:
2008-10-07

Summary:
NISSAN IS RECALLING 204,361 MY 2007-2008 ALTIMA, ALTIMA HYBRID, 350Z, 350Z ROADSTER, MY 2008 ALTIMA COUPE, ROGUE, MY 2009 MURANO, AND INFINITI MY 2007-2008 G35 SEDAN, MY 2008 G37 COUPE AND EX35 PASSENGER VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL AUTOMOTIVE SYSTEMS’ OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM (OCS) CONTROL UNITS. A VARISTOR IN THE OCS CONTROL UNIT LOCATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION MAY HAVE BEEN MANUFACTURED OUT OF SPECIFICATION. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, THIS COULD CAUSE AN INTERRUPTION OF SIGNAL BETWEEN THE OCS AND THE AIR BAG CONTROL UNIT (ACU).

Consequences:
THIS COULD RESULT IN THE PASSENGER AIR BAG BEING SUPPRESSED WHICH COULD FAIL TO PROVIDE ADEQUATE PROTECTION IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH.

Remedy:
DEALERS WILL TEST THE SIGNAL BETWEEN THE OCS AND ACU SYSTEMS USING A SPECIAL TOOL TO CHECK THAT IT IS FUNCTIONING AS DESIGNED. IF NECESSARY, THE SEAT CUSHION (CONTAINING OCS HARDWARE) WILL BE REPLACED WITH A NEW ONE MANUFACTURED TO SPECIFICATION. THE RECALL BEGAN ON NOVEMBER 4, 2008. OWNERS MAY CONTACT NISSAN AT 1-800-647-7261 OR INFINITI AT 1-800-662-6200.

Component Affected:
ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: SOFTWARE

Potential Cars Affected:
204,361

Notes:
NISSAN NORTH AMERICA, INC.

7 comments

  1. So funny! I was just on the phone with my cable company and while I was on hold, I was reading over this post…

    I was on the phone with the cable company because I got a letter in the mail saying that my two year contract was coming up and that my bill would go back to the “normal rate” or I could sign up for another bundle deal and lock in another low rate. I was calling them to set up my bundle deal.

    Well, they tell me that I signed up for my last bundle deal in August 2009, a few months ago. I said, “No. I moved in August of 09 and I just got this letter in the mail saying my “lock in rate” period was ending soon.”

    They said, “No. We are showing that you started your contact in August of 09 and you will have the same rate until August 2011.”

    I explained again. “No. I moved in August 09, I’ve had this contract for longer than that. I assure you. Nothing happened in August other than I moved.”

    I was told. “No. We are showing your contracting starting in August of 09 and that will carry you through until August of 2011.”

    I said, “Ok. When did I sign up for my LAST bundle deal? Can you tell me that?”

    Cable Company, “I see that in June you had trouble with your DVR and had it replaced.”

    Me: “Yeah, before June. Do you see when I first signed up any contract?”

    CC: “I see in August in 09 you started a contract that will lock in your rate until August 2011.”

    Me: “Ok. I guess I will talk to you again in August 2011.”

    I just wanted to scream!!!!!
    .-= Janelle ´s last blog ..The Gift =-.

  2. PS- As you can tell, I’m typing while being a tad mad and I didn’t proof my comment very well. Sorry ’bout that! 🙂

    But I’m thinking if your Nissan Dealership and my Cable Company married and had babies, what would be the product? The DMV?

    Wait. Do you have DMV’s in Canada? Do you have driver’s licenses up there? 🙂

    Merry Christmas, btw.
    .-= Janelle´s last blog ..The Gift =-.

  3. @Janelle: That is too funny! And yes, I think that the mating of those two could very well produce the DMV, which we have in Canada. And about the proofing, I’ve been meaning to add this plugin that would allow you to edit your typos but really that would require some work on my part and nobody wants that. :mrgreen: And Merry Christmas to you to!

  4. Does anyone know anything about 2007 Nissan Altima’s being recalled for problems with the DRIVER’s side airbag? My partner of 15 years was killed last march when he was ejected from this model of sedan. The police report states that the airbags were never deployed despite a collision that happened at highway speeds. I’m sure he would still be alive if they would have opened. OCS should not really be a factor in this because the logic with regard to the driver’s seat should be that if the car is moving, there is an occupant in the driver’s seat, but I take nothing for granted. I have only 3 months left to file a lawsuit for wrongful death. Any helpful info appreciated!

  5. @Timothy Corder: Dude, have you checked the rest of this site? You might very well be the first really serious comment I get. 😉 Maybe someone reading this can answer your question, because I sure can’t. Plus you know, there’s the whole Canada thing – we don’t really do lawsuits. I am sorry for your loss, and best of luck!

Leave a Reply

