The one where I tell you I’m an asshole

I’m an asshole.

There. I guess I should tell you why.

I never feel the urge to give money to any cause. In fact, the more a cause is publicized, the more I’m asked to donate to X or Y, the more this disaster or that disaster is covered by the news, the more of an asshole I become.

The flavor of the day is Haiti, obviously. Mind you, I have nothing against Haitians, I think they’re awesome and I really enjoy the Haitian on Heroes.

My point is that I absolutely hate being asked over and over again to give money to some cause or another. I’m not saying we shouldn’t give money. I’m saying can we just give one time and be done with it? When my alarm clock went off on the morning of the Haiti disaster, one of the first things I heard was that I could send money to help. Then I drove to work and again heard that I could give money to another organisation from a different radio station. I then received an e-mail from our university President, thanking us for the money the university community had already gathered for the United Way campaign and asking us to give more money for the Haiti Victims. Then on Friday it was a jeans day at work, if you wore jeans, you had to give 5$ for the Haitian Fundraiser of our service. I went to pickup my kids from school and the school is also collecting money for Haiti, by asking every student to give at least one dollar. Then there’s the whole Twitter thing – give money whenever someone mentions Haiti on Twitter, during this or that show, etc.

It never stops.

I should stay, it never stops until something equally as tragic happens. Just wait until there’s a volcano that decides to steal a school bus and run some kittens over. Then you’ll get asked to donate to that. Forget about Haiti and give to the volcano bus kitten thing. Sigh.

I mean seriously, how often do I need to be asked to give money? Is it better to give 5$ to 10 different organisations, or to give 50$ to one organisation? Come to think of it, why are there a hundred thousand million different fundraising efforts? Don’t get me started on all the different scam charities that sprouts in the wake of major disasters.

Of course, what is the most common reaction when I tell people I already gave money for whatever they are asking? Disbelief. If I don’t give money whenever I’m asked to give money, I’m treated like a big fat liar. Someone who doesn’t care. In a word, an asshole.

Can’t I get some sort of signed document that says “I’ve already given money for whatever you’re asking money for – move along.”? Again, it might just be easier to wear a t-shirt that says “Asshole” on it, or maybe just hum that song all the time.

What else can I say really?
13 comments

  1. I hate being asked for money for Haiti right now. I can’t donate anything considering that I don’t have a job and am living on saved money. It really sucks and I’m stretched really thin and the last thing I can do is give money, even though if I could I would. Ya know?

    It just bugs me that people have been getting offended when I say I can’t donate. I’m sorry, I can’t.

    So if you get an asshole shirt, will you get me one too? :mrgreen:
    .-= Sarah´s last blog ..Moved. =-.

  2. I’m the exact same way when it comes to giving. Wyclef Jean started the first mobile giving campaign the night of the earthquake. Then the American Red Cross got into it, then the Salvation Army, and the list goes on. It really started to look alot like Twitter spam. I’ll specifically choose the organization I give to based on their actual mission, my previous experience with them, and their level of transparency.

    So I guess we’re two assholes in a pod.
    .-= NYCWD´s last blog ..What I Did New Year’s Weekend =-.

  3. I would’ve donated money but I had to buy groceries.

    And also? I just don’t care really. I donate money to local charities, I give to fundraisers for friends who are in need and participate in fundraisers for causes that are close to my heart. I don’t think I should *have* to donate my last $10 every time something bad happens in the world just because I’m “lucky” to have that $10 lest I be labeled an asshole.

    Sorry Haiti. I’ll let Wyclef, Oprah and Brangelina handle the donating for this one.

    If we can’t wear the tee shirt, can we at least have a badge for our side bar or something?
    .-= Sheila (Charm School Reject)´s last blog ..I See London, I See France =-.

  4. Don’t let others’ reaction to your choices make you feel bad, and deeeefinitely don’t let it sway how you do react.

    You choose what you want to give or not give or do or not do in a situation and stand by your decision.

    You be you.

    If it makes you feel any better, I haven’t given a damn thing. I was kinda waiting for all the fuss to go away then quietly make a donation when no one was making them anymore. That’s my style. But I just let the cat outta the bag. eh. I’m just telling you, not everyone gives a billion times and anyone who’s trying to guilt trip you into giving, giving, giving needs a more involved, productive hobby.
    .-= Poppy´s last blog ..No longer =-.

  5. I gave a bit of money via Canadian Tire. What’s funny is the woman who asked for my donation was from a part of the world where “Haiti” is pronounced in a way I couldn’t make out. I just heard her ask, “Would you like to donate some money to …” something.

    I thought it might be for the local Little League or Hockey Club or Curling Troupe. I said “yes” out of reflex.

    When I found out it was Haiti one of my first thoughts was “How many more times will I be asked this this weekend and will people believe me when I tell them I’ve already given.” (While I had many more opportunities to give to Haiti, nobody else asked me, directly, for money.)

  6. @Sarah: Of course – for a small donation. :mrgreen:

    @NYCWD: The image is mind-boggling. 😀

    @SheilaCSR: An “I’m an asshole badge”… Now there’s an idea. 😛

    @SheilaCSR: Well d’uh. 🙄

    @Janelle: Told you I was an asshole. :mrgreen:

    @Poppy: Thank you. I really needed to hear that I think.

    @Delmer: It never stops. This morning my kids gave 50$ of their money through the school.

    @Sybil Law: Noted. 😉

  7. The thing is, you don’t really know where the money goes. I remember a big fuss when the American Red Cross used the money for things besides 9/11. They had to put it to administrative costs, etc, and in the end they have other things they focus their attention on as well.

    I just ignore the money grubbers and donate to what I believe in. (Though, I have been a money grubber myself in the past for Relay For Life.)
    .-= Lynda´s last blog ..Birthday Wishes!! =-.

  8. I’m an asshole too. Every day I stop at a light where two homeless people stand with a sign asking for money. I never give them a dime. I have certain charities that I donate to on a regular basis, and I will make a single donation to the Red Cross in a disaster (although I wish I had known about Wyclef’s efforts because I would have given to that instead). Beyond that, please leave me alone. I will not give to your kid’s soccer team or let the local high school do a crappy job washing my car. I work hard for my money and don’t have a ton to spare and am, quite frankly, tired of being made to feel guilty about it.
    .-= Finn´s last blog ..What I Learned In Jamaica =-.

Leave a Reply

