What is the secret to 15 years of marriage?

A few days ago I wrote about myΒ impending doom upcoming 15th wedding anniversary.

Robin asked: “What is the secret to 15 years of marriage?” To me it’s pretty easy:

We met when we were pretty young,

and went to a couple of costumed parties.

Moved in together and got a cat.

Had a few little mishaps,

Some of them a little more serious than others.

We graduated from the university,

and then got married.

I hit it off with my Favorite Mother In Law,

and also with my Favorite Father In Law.

LovelyWife was very happy.

Eventually we got pregnant,

had a daughter,

who looks just like her mom,

see what I mean?

Then we had a son,

who – thankfully – also looks like her mom.

We fed the kids,

they loved each other,

their mom made them laugh,

and sometimes bathed them.

The kids grew up loving each other (and juice),

we took vacations together,

and family pictures.

That’s it. The secret is that there’s no secret. But if I can offer one tiny insight into our life it would be this: we do everything passionately. We laugh, we fight, we cry, we love, we live. Passionately.

And if you asked my LovelyWife, she would probably say that the secret to 15 years of marriage is to never ever under any circumstances post pictures of your pregnant wife on the Internet.

And she’d be pretty passionate about it too.

21 comments

  1. While I appreciate you protecting the identities of your children by not referring to them by name, I have to give you mad props for also protecting the identity of you first cat. Not many people would show such consideration towards animals!

  2. @Amanda: Of course we can! For some reason, the hairdresser didn’t want me to go with my usual “slick back in a pony tail” look. There was so much hairspray in there I probably could’ve been reporting a tornado and I would still have “perfect” hair. Notice how it doesn’t move at all when I lean to kiss my FFIL? Good times.

    @Dave2: Well, you know how many password-reset questions are “Name of your first cat”? I didn’t want to have to go back and change that answer everywhere. πŸ˜‰

    @BlondeFabulous: Elvis-esque? Nice!

  3. This is a lovely pictorial, but I can’t for the life of me figure out why the juice in the glasses are not level with each other.

  4. @John: House is built on ancient Native-American burial ground.

    @Delmer: Of course. πŸ˜‰

    @Finn: Hey you jinxed it! Anniversary is only on Nov 25th. πŸ˜›

  5. I loved that =) We have no big anniversaries coming up, just 8 years since we met in December. Our secret so far is that I tell him he’s pretty and he makes me dinner.

  6. Great post. Happy 15 to you two crazy kids. Sorry there won’t be a 16 since you broke your wife’s commandment and also referred to the in-laws as “favorites” implying there are others. You damn CanaMormon, you!

  7. @Robin: Thank you for the prompt. πŸ˜‰ And I like your secret a lot. I tell LovelyWife she’s pretty all the time. She should make me a sandwich.

    @Poppy: That’s my true secret: I act like an idiot most of the time, so the bar is set really really low. Every year I get a little better. You should’ve seen me 15 years ago. πŸ˜€

    @Kapgar: Well, we’ve almost been married 15 years, but we will have been together 19 years on Nov 25th (yes, we got married on the same day we started going out together, 4 years later). I’m pretty confident I’ll see 16/20. πŸ˜‰

    @MartyMankins: I’ll thank you in 27 days. Well, if we make it. πŸ˜‰

  8. Here I was thinking that you’re only a little behind our 17 years, but our courtship was only 2 years (and 11 days), so you’re actually about 6 months ahead of us on “together”. Nice!

    Wait… I think my math is off… 17+2 = 19, so we’re actually 6 months ahead of you on “together”. Now I have to ease up on criticizing my daughter for arithmetic mistakes in her Algebra homework. Dag-nab-it!

  9. @Suze: Yeah, that cat was special. Almost thank you! πŸ˜‰

    @Kevin Spencer: I have underwear older than that. #NoNotReally. πŸ˜‰

    @Sybil Law: Thanks!

    @THE BROTHER: Damn you! Now to change all those secret questions… πŸ˜‰

    @Ren: I married a mathematician just to get away from these calculations myself. Also, I married an axe murderer (was a funny movie).

Leave a Reply

