The Last Sleepover

Zoé went to her last sleepover yesterday.

“How can you know it was her last sleepover?” I hear you ask out loud in your office / living room / favorite coffee shop.

Because I’m not really a dumbass. I just comb my hair in  a certain way and that makes me LOOK like a dumbass.

“So how was your sleepover?” I asked.

“The girls had fun scaring me all night. They pretended that someone was at the front door, and was trying to get inside the house. In the end it was really funny, but I was a little scared.” She explained.

“How did they manage to do that?”

She then told me about the configuration on the house, and how one friend pretended to go to the bathroom but really went knocking at the front door instead, how they all went down the stairs but never went all the way to the door and ran back upstairs, where they called (pretended to call really) the girl’s dad , mom and brothers but no one would pick up their phone. It was all really scary but they soon admitted what they were doing and everything was fine. They had fun.

Except she never got to that point.

We were parked in the coffee place parking lot, waiting for LovelyWife to pick-up some tea for her office. I had tilted the rear view mirror, and was asking her about her night.

“So how was your sleepover?” I asked.

“The girls had fun scaring me all night. They pretended that someone was at the front door, and was trying to get inside the house. In the end it was really funny, but I was a little scared.” She explained.

“How did they manage to do that?”

She then told me about the configuration on the house, and how one friend pretended to go to the bathroom but really went knocking at the front door instead, how they all went down the stairs but never went all the way to the door and ran back upstairs, where they called (pretended to call really) the girl’s dad…

I made “WTF are you talking about?” with my eyes.

[Awkward Pause]

I said: “Did you know there wasn’t going to be any adult in the house for that sleepover? And why didn’t you call me when you realized you had no supervision?”

“I didn’t want to have to come back home.”

So because there were no adults present at the sleepover, but more importantly because Zoé knew it was wrong to not call me when she realized no adult was there, and mainly because she tried to pull a fast one on me, Zoé went to her last sleepover yesterday.

For a while.

For a long long while.

I’m going to have to find ways to rebuild that trust as fast as possible.  This is not going to be easy.

14 comments

  1. Love it when they tell on themselves. I always require a phone number of the parent who’s house the sleep over is going to be at so I can speak to them prior to the event. Keeps the shenanigans to a minimum.

  2. OH NO SHE DIDN’T!!!

    then. THEN. not smart enough to keep it to herself. the whole no adult supervision.

    And um, can you contact the people’s parents THAT WERE NOT THERE and ask wtf?

    or. is that going to far?

    1. I think that the other parents can do what they want. It’s my responsibility to make sure my daughter knows right from wrong. She should be able to call me if there’s any issue, regardless what parents present would say or do.

  3. WTF?! This kid’s parents let her have a sleepover with no adult supervision at twelve years old?!

    I’d hate to see what they’d allow when she’s sixteen.

  4. The parents weren’t there all night?! WTF?!
    (Also, out kids have the same name. We have great taste! I think we maybe discussed this way back at Avitaween but I was pretty drunk, so I’m not sure.)

Leave a Reply

