I am back, bitches!

What a glorious couple of weeks twenty days this has been.

Here’s a short recap of what I did while I was offline*:

1) Did a lot of traveling. I went to Vegas and didn’t kill a hooker. Also, that tattoo is mostly hidden by my growing beard now, so it’s all good. No worries. Took the train to Montréal and back, and drove to Sherbrooke and back. Avoided that collapsing tunnel by about an hour and 20 kilometers.

2) Did all kinds of “Lion” things. Went to see The Lion King musical, and it was awesome. Upgraded the iMac to Lion, and it was awesome. Spend a lot of days just lying there. Also did a little lying about that tattoo in number one.

3) Got cultivated. Visited a few museums, saw “Les Fourberies de Scapin” in Montréal, mowed the lawn and watered the garden a few times. I also saw a lot of movies.

4) Got bigger, got smaller, got motivated, got demotivated. It all evens out in the end anyways. I would be so much more motivated to do that damn “Couch to 5K” thing if 5K was the name of a burger joint.

5) Got older. I had a birthday during my time off, and was very Verklempt with all the e-love I received on that day. Also, my LovelyWife did surprise me with a surprise event with a few of my close friends. Turning 40 is not that bad after all. Now watch me buy that yellow sports car… 😉

6) Felt like it was 2001. I ran some CAT5 cables in my house. I resurfaced the driveway. I basically took some stuff off the 10 year-old list.

7) Enjoyed a moderate quantity of alcoholic beverages. Moderate quantity, because see point 5. I did open one bottle that was part of the Loot, and I was happy about it.

8) Shopped until I dropped. New TV. Apple TV. Cables. Clothes. Shower curtain. PS3. Fluffy towels. Bed linens. Etc.

What about you? What did you do while I was gone?

* Of course, I wasn’t completely offline – as I suspected – but managed to keep the online presence to fun stuff only. Well, in 98% of the time anyways. 😉
15 comments

  1. You’ve been gone so long I though I had actually missed your birthday. Yes, that’s it. Not that I’m getting old and forgot that I wished you a happy one. Of course it was many, many days ago and I am a busy woman…

  2. Did I miss your birthday?! I don’t know! Well, Happy Birthday, if I did!
    And who you callin’ a bitch? Oh, me. Oh. Okay.

    1. I really like the Apple TV. It will replace the Wii for Netflix watching – I always thought that watching Netflix through the Wii was awkward, if only because of the noise the Wii makes, and the AirPlay options are awesome. I still haven’t explored every single feature, but I can stream videos from my iMac (awesome, since my DVD player died months ago) and music, watch pictures from Flickr… it’s really cool. Plus, my universal remote controls it.

      Now if I could only find a way to automatically rip all my DVDs, that would be great! 😉

      1. Not quite automatic, but I have HandBrake rip the DVD and drop it in MetaX to search and update the metadata. MetaX then drops it in iTunes when it’s done. What I have to do:

        1. Insert the DVD, which launches HandBrake because I changed the preference from the DVD Player to HandBrake.
        2. Wait up to a minute for HandBrake to scan the DVD and select the appropriate title (90%+ of the time) and rename the file because many DVDs are poorly named and none are named the way I want.
        4. Click “Start” (or whatever).
        5. Go do something else for however long it takes, which is dependent on several factors. Often, the “something else” is go to sleep.
        6. Come back to find MetaX has launched with the ripped movie (because I configured that in HandBrake). Select one of the online search results*, click the toggle button and click the write button.
        7. Delete the extra file that got left around from before it was added to iTunes. (I should check to see if MetaX has an option to delete that.)

        Wow, I’m surprised it’s seven steps, particularly since several of those involved clicking more than one thing. It’s really simple.

        (*Some of the search results have different numbers of chapters, so that means some extra time to select the right one or using one that doesn’t match, which isn’t a big deal for typical movies anyway, as the chapter titles aren’t really useful.)

Leave a Reply

