Steve

Your time is limited so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary. 

Being a recent MacConvert, I don’t have interesting stories about getting a Mac when I was 7 and becoming the envy of the geeks at my school, or how Steve touched and changed my life. The first Apple product I bought was the first generation iPod Nano, and I bought it for my LovelyWife as a wedding anniversary present.

All evening yesterday I watched my Twitter timeline as it was overflowing with an outpouring of 140-characters eulogies for a man I didn’t know. A man I never met. Why was I feeling sad at Steve’s passing? I only made one comment:

The truth is that I’m not sad at Steve’s passing. It is a sad and tragic event, everybody deserves more time with their loved ones. But just a few weeks ago I was already in “funny but slightly inappropriate mode” about Apple co-founder’s death. So why the weird feelings now? To borrow Backpacking Dad’s sentiment‘s words:

It’s crazy to be maudlin about a total stranger’s death. And it’s crazier to write so many words about him when I did not write a thing about my brother’s Mother-In-Law’s loosing battle with Cancer. I’m sure it’s transference.

My brother’s Mother-In-Law – Mado – will soon die of a brain Cancer. When she goes, people on Twitter will not spend a night Tweeting about her. They will not make graphics with her quotes, direct people to watch her videos on YouTube. In all fairness, Mado is not a public figure. She didn’t invent cool computers and technological gadgets.

But for her family, she did change everything.

So Rest in Peace Steve. I didn’t know you but you did touch my life.

To Mado’s family. To Benoit, Stéphanie, Eliott and Juliette; I love you guys.

 

 

13 comments

  1. I’m always the last to find these things out.

    I didn’t find out he died until about an hour ago or so.

    #tinybubble

  2. My favorite thing you have ever wrote:

    “My brother’s Mother-In-Law – Mado – will soon die of a brain Cancer. When she goes, people on Twitter will not spend a night Tweeting about her. They will not make graphics with her quotes, direct people to watch her videos on YouTube. In all fairness, Mado is not a public figure. She didn’t invent cool computers and technological gadgets.

    But for her family, she did change everything.”

    This brought tears to my eyes. And much love is going out to your brother in law and his family…

Leave a Reply

