Forgive me father, for I will sin…

It’s been too many days since my last blog post.

Yes, this is one of those posts about not posting. Yes, this is a blog post about blogging, or not blogging as the case may be.

If you’re a fan of LeSombre, you most probably noticed that the blogging frequency here has been less than stellar in the past ten months or so. There’s a whole lot of reasons for that, most of them too personal to mention here. To be honest, I have more than 20 incomplete drafts that will never see the light of day.

I know, I know. When you’re having fun publicly, it’s kind of expected that you’d be miserable publicly too. I don’t get this. I won’t abide by that rule.

I read something on a blog recently – in the past few months – that really resonated with me. I forget the exact quote or the blog where it came from, I’m really sorry, but it went something like this:

The more I blog, the less I have to talk about.

That’s exactly what is happening with me. Not that I think I’m a world renown blogger, but I am more known now than I was when I started writing here. Way back when, it was easy to write stories about my life in a way where I could say all kinds of – sometimes nasty – stuff about people I knew without sounding like it was about them. Nowadays, I’m hard pressed to find a way to blog about a frustrating experience at work without people at work (yes, they read this blog) thinking it’s about them. The same goes about stuff happening at home, it’s hard to blog about things that affect me without making them sound that it’s about a pretty specific person.

Sometimes it is, and I can live with that. Sometimes it’s not, and that’s when it gets hard to hit publish.

2 comments

  1. It’s not like you have anyone to talk to anyway, what with my new BossMen being weirdos who suck up all of my time and attention. So blog away.

    And yes.

    It’s *always* about me.

Leave a Reply

