Thirty Questions

Stolen from a whole bunch of people… (Thank you, bunch of people!)

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

I would most likely say 27. Although on some days I feel like I’m 97, so I guess it all evens out somehow. I believe that age is just a number, and that you can be a really old 15 year-old or a very young 90+ year-old.

Which is worse, failing or never trying?

I think that in general, it’s worst to never try but I also believe that on occasion its worst to fail at something than to try it. It all depends who the results impact.

When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

Most likely, but that’s only because I say a lot of things. I also do a lot of stuff, but I enjoy not doing anything more than not saying anything.

What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

Get rid of all the idiots. But then again, I think we’re all someone else’s idiot.

Are you doing what you believe in, or are you settling for what you are doing?

A happy mix of both. I am definitely settling for what I’m doing in certain fields – I believe that a job is just a job, so no biggie there – and I’m lucky enough to have a job that I love most of the time, even if the last year has been really tough. In some other parts of my life, like anything that has to do with my family life, I will never settle.

To what degree have you actually controlled the course your life has taken?

I think I made the best considering all the unexpected stuff that life threw at me. A little bit of dodging bullets, a little bit of catching a break and a little bit of bad stuff to make te good stuff look even better.

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

I’m worried about doing the right things right, but that’s because I’m slightly OCD.

If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

The sooner you learn to not poop your pants, the happier you’ll be.

Would you break the law to save a loved one?

Yes.

Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

No. I’m pretty good at reading people, and odds are that if I think you’re insane, you probably are. Not that insane people can’t be creative. I know a few of these.

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I don’t talk in movie theaters. That has to count for something, right?

How come the things that make you happy don’t make everyone happy?

Because the things that make me happy tend to be considered not important by other people.

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do?

Today? Take a nap.
Life in general? Sing the Opera.

Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?

I do push the button more than once but I don’t think it makes the elevator go faster. I’m complex.

Why are you, you?

Every one else was already taken!

Have you been the kind of friend you want as a friend?

Always.

Would you rather lose all of your old memories, or never be able to make new ones?

That’s a tough one. Forced to choose, I’d have to say I’d rather not be able to make new memories. Because you see, eventually all new memories would become old memories, and I’d lose them too, being left with nothing.

Unless it’s a punctual event, then the question is unclear.

Is it possible to know the truth without challenging it first?

It’s not possible to know the truth even after you challenge it. The truth is a strange concept that can’t be defined anyways, so how would we even know when we get there?

Has your greatest fear ever come true?

Not yet.

At what time in your recent past have you felt most passionate and alive?

This is a really depressing question that makes me realize that I haven’t felt passionate and alive in a long time.

If not now, then when?

Whenever.

If you haven’t achieved it yet, what do you have to lose?

Say what?

Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

No.

When was the last time you marched into the dark with only the soft glow of an idea you strongly believed in?

Metaphorically, I do that every single damn day.

If you knew that everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

I’d spend the day with my family. I wouldn’t phone in to work to warn anyone, as they’d all be dead tomorrow anyways.

Would you be willing to reduce your life expectancy by 10 years to become extremely attractive or famous?

I am already extremely attractive and famous. Also, I don’t think I have more than 10 years left.

What is the difference between being alive and truly living?

Spelled differently? You can be alive and not truly live, but you can’t be truly living and not be alive?

What would you do differently if you knew nobody would judge you?

Nothing. I don’t really care all that much about everyone’s opinion.

When was the last time you noticed the sound of your own breathing?

Right after reading this question.

Decisions are being made right now. The question is: Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

Sometimes I let people make decisions for me, but I make damn well sure they make the right decision and sometimes I decide for myself while letting other people think they decided. I pretty much decide all the time, except when I don’t.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

